Heritage Owners Club

Software

gpuma

I am looking to buy one of these software like Guitar Pro but I am fairly new to the field.

Anyone has any recommendation concerning both the software and the sound interface.

Just to put the discussion in the proper context, I am not a professional, I am not even a good player for that matter. I believe that these softwares however are a good way to learn new material.

I have access to both PC and Mac platform (mac laptop and decent PC desktop)

Can't comment on Guitar Pro, but for those of you that have said "Recording software is the bain of my existance," if you're interested, I know a ton about recording software. FWIW, I can answer questions about that.

gpuma - hope you find what you're looking for in tab software. Good luck with that!

I think Im nearly ready to start using my computer for recording and editing. I think Im at the point where my Korg D1200 stand alone recorder, while still a useful device, really is becoming more and more out dated and limited in its functions compared to some of the software programs out there.

What does everyone here use?

How do I figure out if my lap top has enough power to run one of these programs?

I think at the end of the day it all boils down on what you really need to do. I am messing around with Garage Band on my mMac and I think I would like to step it up a notch, but still, I would just be messing around at a higher level.

I guess that if you are making a living out of music, it is a totally different set of issues

Guest HRB853370

That's why I like working through a unit like my Yamaha AW1600.

I've never used a tab system like Guitar Pro.

Or a Tascam 2488 NEO

I think Im nearly ready to start using my computer for recording and editing. I think Im at the point where my Korg D1200 stand alone recorder, while still a useful device, really is becoming more and more out dated and limited in its functions compared to some of the software programs out there.