Heritage Owners Club

Amp Stand

At a jam session last weekend, I put my little Blues Jr. up on an amp stand - which I think *really* makes a difference. I think I had the volume only up to about 2 or 3, and I was playing with a drummer and bass player, and it was plenty loud. I think tilting it upwards at an angle does the trick.

Anyone else here use an amp stand (or whatever the proper name of it is) and, if so, what brand name do you use? I'd like to buy my own.

I have been using one for a couple of years now. I use it stage right from me and not pointed out to the crowd. I run out of the slave jack to the house mixer. Much better control of sound levels. When you have 3 guitar players levels are important. I use a Onstage rs7000.

I have three of the type Mars showed but the one I use for my small combo I use with the extension arms removed so the amp is tilted but still on the floor.

003-7.jpg

So, do you feel you're preserving the bottom end by having it on the floor?

Perhaps they should create amp stands that have a sort of floor/or board on them to preserve the bass end of the tonal spectrum.

Perhaps they should create amp stands that have a sort of floor/or board on them to preserve the bass end of the tonal spectrum.

There are amp stands like that, if I remember correctly LK155, Lyle, has posted pics of his.

Yes it most definitely helps the bottom end and when folded up is very light and easy to transport. Plus there's the fact that you retain the open sound an open back cab provides rather than blocking off the back of the cab with one of the folded horn type stands. To keep from scratching the paint on the amp chassis I simply used weather stripping with a self adhesive strip and stuck it to the face of the uprights on the stand.